You are:

+ Share | Print page

Northamptonshire Record Office

Northamptonshire County Record Office


Address: Northamptonshire Record Office,Wootton Hall Park, Mereway, Northampton, NN4 8BQ

Telephone: 01604 362 513



 (Archon Code 154) Wheelchair accessible. 

Material relating to the development and construction of the motorways in both the Midland and Eastern Regions has been deposited by the Regional co-ordinators in this record office and has been listed under “archive information” on the Motorway Archive website. Each document (or in some cases groups of documents like press cuttings) is given a unique number denoted by the following:-

MA Motorway Archive

M or ER The Midlands or Eastern region

M?? Motorway Number

I Specific Item

The deposit may also have an accession number.

It should be understood that there will inevitably be other information relating to the motorway system, which has been deposited by other people, and not listed on this website. You can comprehensively search the archive's catalogues by going to ????????????

It is also likely that some of the major libraries in the various Counties could hold relevant records, but these must be approached individually.

Note that the Midland Region includes the following Counties:

Derbyshire, Herefordshire, Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and the West Midlands Urban Conurbation.

The Eastern Region includes the following Counties:

Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, Northamptonshire and Suffolk.