You are:

+ Share | Print page


Regional Map Scotland England – North Eastern England – North Western Wales England – Midlands England – Eastern England – London England – South Eastern England – South Western Northern Ireland

 Counties in the English Regions

The English Regions used in this website are identical to the six Road Construction Units which in turn were based on groups of the traditional Counties that existed before the major Local Government reorganisation in 1974.  The list below is of the traditional Counties in each Region with reference, where appropriate, to their current equivalent.

Eastern Region: Essex, Hertfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Bedfordshire, Suffolk, Norfolk, Cambridgeshire, Huntingdon and Peterborough (now subsumed into Cambridgeshire), Northamptonshire

Midland Region: Warwickshire, Worcestershire, Herefordshire, Leicestershire, Rutland, Staffordshire, Shropshire, Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire

North East Region: Lincolnshire, Yorkshire (West , East, and North - formerly called "Ridings"), Durham, Northumberland

North West Region: Cheshire, Lancashire, Westmorland and Cumberland (The latter two are now embraced in Cumbria)

South East Region: Sussex (East and West), Hampshire, Kent, Surrey, Berkshire, Oxfordshire

South West Region: Dorset, Devonshire, Cornwall, Wiltshire, Somerset, Gloucestershire


London: The area covered by the former Greater London Council